Naming Opportunities

Stephen F. Austin State University has naming opportunities that provide donors to link their philanthropic interests with enducring recognition for either themselves or others. Donors can choose to name schools, programs, buildings and/or spaces. 

Below is a list of areas related to university academics available for naming.*

University Facilities and Spaces - minimum gift of $1,000,000

  • New Facilities: To name a new facility, a donor must contribute at least 50 percent of the private fundraising goal as defined in the Naming Guidelines Policy 
  • Existing Facilities: Existing facilities unnamed are are available to be named for a donor under the case of a major renovation, which extends throughout an existing building, provided that the donor's gift covers at least 75 percent of the cost of the renovation or maintenance.

Portion of Facilities or External Spaces

  • To name rooms, laboratories, centers or areas within new or renovated facilities, or external spaces such as entryways or gardens, donors must provide the minimum specified level of gifts. 
  • Naming opportunities and levels are based upon the size, prominence and priority of the space.
Named Buildings  Named Spaces 
Ed and Gwen Cole STEM Building  Mark T. Layton Lobby, Business
Robert and Kathy Lehmann Chemistry Building  Mattress Firm Commons, Business
Roy E. and Linda Bush Math Building  Walter E. Naymola Innovation Hub, Business
E.L. Miller Science Building  Michael J. Hopkins Lobby, Business
McKibben Education Building Lou Ann Richardson Classroom, Business
William R. Johnson Coliseum  Rex Engelhardt Laboratory, STEM
Tom and Peggy Wright Music Building   
Paul L. Boynton Building   

Academic and Major University Units

Funding required for naming academic or other major university units should be a level that will transform the very nature of the unit involved, enabling that unit to reach a level of excellence that would have been impossible using Univeristy funds alone. 

  • College, School or Division minimum gift of $10,000,000
  • Academic Departments: minimum gift of $5,000,000
  • University -wide Center/Institute - minimum gift of $5,000,000
  • College/Unit Center/Institute - minimum gift of 5,000,000
Named Colleges 
Unnamed Colleges 
James I. Perkins College of Education  College of Fine Arts 
Nelson Rusche College of Business  College of Sciences and Mathematics 
Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture  College of Liberal and Applied Arts 
Named Schools Unnamed Schools 
Richard and Lucille DeWitt School of  Nursing  School of Art 
Gerald W. Schlief School of Accountancy  School of Honors 
  School of Music 
  School of Social Work 
  School of Theatre
  School of Human Sciences 
Named Center/Institutes Unnamed Centers/Institutes
Mast Student Investment Roundtable The Dean's Circle, College of Fine Arts 
Chadwick Family Banking Program  

Please contact us for further information.

*The financial requirements for naming opportunities differ and the Board of Regents retains the latitude to create alternate naming opportunities. View the Naming Guidelines Policy >

Office of Development

P.O. Box 6092 - SFA Station
Nacogdoches, Texas 75962-6092
2102 Alumni Drive
Austin Bldg. Ste. 303
Phone: 800.319.9517
Phone: 936.468.5406
Fax: 936.468.7025